How much longer until retirement?

A teacher blogs about reading, writing, knitting, and classroom life.

Spring Break 2009: Peru April 14, 2009

Filed under: Life,Teaching — Stephanie @ Finances & Fatigues @ 5:54 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I had an awesome Spring Break.

My roomate S1 (both my roommates are S’s, incidentally) and S1’s mother and I went to Peru for 8 or 9 days.  I loved it.  I loved speaking Spanish again, I loved the people (mostly), I loved the sites, I just loved it.  Except I didn’t really love the agency we went though, we had too much traveling.  Too much planes, trains, and sitting on buses.  But once we got to the sites I loved it.

I also bought a car over Spring Break.  I had still been driving the same junker from high school and was sort of half heartedly looking and then I saw a good deal and I took it!  So I now drive a Volvo S40, 2006 but under 10k miles on it.

Anyways, back to the whole Peru thing.  At school, I only speak Spanish to tell the colors and numbers and months.  I love teaching Spanish, but the amount I use doesn’t push my skill.  I was so excited to be able to practice so much in Peru and it got me all pumped up and rejuvenated to teach Spanish when I got back.  My students were soooo excited to hear about my trip.  They keep asking me questions, some oddball, but some really thoughtful, and they were excited to see the coins I brought back.

I also got a lot of reading done in Peru, again an effect of the whole plane-train-bus issue.  Then I realized that I haven’t updated my books read in a long time, so I went ahead and did that.  My count right now is 21.  I know I read mostly young adult and juvenile books, but it still seems like a high count.

 

Leave a Reply

