How much longer until retirement?

A teacher blogs about reading, writing, knitting, and classroom life.

Apples and Friends February 3, 2009

Filed under: Life,Teaching — Stephanie @ Finances & Fatigues @ 4:28 pm

My friend J came to observe my class today.  I’ve known J since 2nd grade and recently went to her wedding, so she’s definately a close friend.  She called me over the weekend and said that as part of her student teaching she has to observe various classrooms.  She thought it would be a worthwhile experience to observe a first year teacher so she asked to come observe my classroom.  I gave the kids a big talk about it yesterday and they were so excited to meet her today!

Overall, it was really fun to have J today, although I probably scared her a little bit.  It’s so different observing a really great experienced teacher and then watching a first year teacher, but it’s also probably a reality check.

So why is the word “apples” in this post title? Well, I’ll tell you that little diddy.  As kids, J always teased me about my “fifteen minute apple”.  Basically, I’d eat an apple every day at lunch and it would take me fifteen minutes to eat it, hence she teased me about it.  Well today I pulled an apple out of my lunch bag at snack time and the kids started commenting, “You always have an apple!”  “Why do you like apples so much?”  “Do you like apples because you’re a teacher?”  I looked at J and she burst out laughing, remembering me and my apples.  I guess some things never change.

 

2 Responses to “Apples and Friends”

  1. Gabriel Says:

    Aw, what a sweet post!

    I’m “Samantha,” the girl who wrote in to The Simple Dollar. I just wanted to thank everyone personally for taking the time to comment. I think that the current environment is one of cynicism and distrust – it’s really nice when something like this shows that there are lots of wonderful, thoughtful people in the world. Thanks so much for taking the time to write!

    You’re right – we always have to push ourselves. It seems like that’s the only way to get anything done!

    By the way, I just want to mention that I’ve recently started a blog of my own – http://www.alternativelivings.blogspot.com. It’s all about ways to earn money outside of a traditional 9-5 job (as a college student, I’m very interested in this subject 🙂 ) Please feel free to drop by, I’d love to keep in touch!

    Good luck, and thanks again!

  2. […] this, J text me that she can sub for my class.  That’ll be awesome because she was just there and all the kids loved her. […]


Leave a Reply

