How much longer until retirement?

A teacher blogs about reading, writing, knitting, and classroom life.

Hope, Joy, and Sheer Frustration December 8, 2008

Filed under: reading,Teaching — Stephanie @ Finances & Fatigues @ 5:57 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Hope: My students were well behaved today.  Even H.  Especially H.  How?  On Friday my principal came in and helped me rearrange my classroom (for the third time this year- another story for another day) to separate the 5th and 6th graders.  She felt that the 6th graders were a bad influence on the 5th graders.  H got his own seat and a clipboard.  He was perfectly behaved. After lunch the whole class got a little rowdy, but in general, it was one of the best behaved days in ages.  There is hope after all!

Joy: I just checked out The Invention of Hugo Cabret at the library.  I was eying this book at our school library last week, but a kid took it and I wasn’t about to take it from him- although I was tempted.   This book is really cool in it’s set up.  It’s super thick like a Harry Potter book, but 284 of the pages (according to the jacket) are drawings.  On the pages that do have writing, they aren’t a full page.  I “read” like the first twenty pages at the school library and I was so excited to have found it and I can’t wait to start it!

And the frustration that put an anchor on this whole day…

I’m taking this online class that makes me want to use all sorts of profanity.  In California, teachers have to “clear” their credential.  This too makes me want to use profanity, but I’m trying to focus my anger on this class, which is one of four to clear my credential.  On the website, the assignments are listed in 4 separate places, and none of them match.  On one week in particular nobody could figure out the assignment and a ton of people emailed the instructor, but she took her sweet time (a week) and waited until after it was due to clarify and some people had to do it again.  I am currently failing this class because I didn’t find the rubric for the assignment until a week later and didn’t realize all that I had to do.  Notice my choice in the word “find”, not that I didnt read, or didn’t know, but that I literally couldn’t find it on this maze of a website.  So to pass this class I need to get an excellent score on the next paper. However, I am confused on this as well.  In one place she says it should be between 3-5 pages, but then the sample paper she put up is 13 pages.  The whole ordeal makes me want to yank my hair and scream into a pillow.

But on the bright side, it makes me want to be an internet teacher, because apparently you can assign obscure assignments and not respond to your pupils and still make a paycheck bigger than mine.

 

Leave a Reply

